Archive of films Olga / Olga

Czech Republic
2014, 87 min

Section: Documentary Films - Out of Competition
Year: 2014

This gently humorous and, above all, understated portrait of Olga Havlová, with the tagline "Observations of a subject who refused to talk and did just what she wanted,” freely interweaves exclusive archive footage and recollections from friends with excerpts from the files the secret police kept on the former first lady.


After the huge success of Citizen Havel, renowned documentarist Miroslav Janek took up the reigns of both director and DOP and launched into a portrait of former First Lady Olga Havlová. The film bearing the subtitle A report on the observation of a subject who refused to talk and did just what she wanted is not, and doesn’t attempt to be, an exhaustive depiction of the life of Olga Havlová featuring a chronological sequence of events and precise biographical data. Filmmaker Janek instead allows previously unreleased archive footage and photographs to speak freely for themselves, placing emphasis on capturing the spirit of the period and aspects of Havlová’s life that were out of the political limelight. Witty recollections from friends and acquaintances are here intriguingly interwoven with excerpts from files the secret police kept on Havlová. This highly original film, skilfully edited by veteran Tonička Janková, offers a portrait of an exceptional individual who would have turned 81 on 11 July this year. And Ms. Havlová would certainly have been pleased with the result: objective, gently, humorous, sincere and, above all, understated.

About the director

Miroslav Janek

Miroslav Janek (b. 1954, Náchod, Czechoslovakia) began as an amateur filmmaker. In 1980 he emigrated to the USA where he worked with a number of documentarists (e.g. Godfrey Reggio), returning to his native country in the mid-1990s. He enjoyed huge success with The Unseen (1996 – Best Documentary Film Award ex aequo at KVIFF). Janek’s extensive collection of documentaries includes Seven Ten Nečtiny (1993), Baroque Opera (1997), Hamsa, I Am (1999), The Musicians (1999), Crimson Sails (2001), Vierka (2005), Kha-chee-pae (2005), Citizen Havel (2008), The Confessions of Kateryna K. (2008) and Battle for Life (2000), which earned Janek, Roman Vávra and Vít Janeček a special award at Finále Plzeň. In 2012 KVIFF screened his portrait of director Drahomíra Vihanová Burning (2012).


Milady Horákové 383/79, 170 00, Praha 7
Czech Republic
Tel: +420 224 947 566
E-mail: [email protected]

Film & Sociologie
Pod Zvonařkou 10, 120 00, Praha 2
Czech Republic
Tel: +420 222 561 410
E-mail: [email protected]

About the film

Color, DCP

Section: Documentary Films - Out of Competition
Director: Miroslav Janek
Screenplay: Miroslav Janek
Dir. of Photography: Miroslav Janek
Editor: Tonička Janková
Producer: Jarmila Poláková
Production: Film & Sociologie
Coproduction: Česká televize / Czech Television
Contact: Aerofilms, Film & Sociologie
Distributor: Aerofilms


Jarmila Poláková


Miroslav Janek

Film Director

Anna Freimanová


Ivo Andrle


Zuzana Pudilová


Martina Chvojka Reková

PR & Marketing


© 2024 FILM SERVIS FESTIVAL KARLOVY VARY, a.s. [email protected] +420 221 411 011 All contacts

AccommodationsAccommodations Festival Pass, tickets, reservationsFestival Pass, tickets
HistoryHistory ContactsContacts
Archive of filmsArchive of films KVIFF TalksKVIFF Talks
Industry Days Programme 2021Industry Days Programme KVIFF Eastern PromisesKVIFF Eastern Promises
VideogalleryVideogallery PhotogalleryPhotogallery
ContactsContacts Posters of the 57th KV IFFPosters of the 57th KV IFF
HistoryHistory Festival GuideFestival Guide