Archive of films Violent / Violent

2014, 104 min

Section: Forum of Independents - Competition
Year: 2014

This visually powerful and original movie is the writer-director project of the Vancouver-based band We Are the City. The plot unfolds in Bergen and the heroine is young Dagny, whose memories of the five people who loved her most rise to the surface at the moment Dagny undergoes a fateful and tragic experience.


This visually powerful movie is the writer-director project of the Canadian rock band We Are the City, and was created to coincide with the release of their latest CD of the same name. The movie uses musical motifs from the recorded songs, and the plotline is a loose interpretation of the subject matter appearing in the songs on the CD. The story takes us to Bergen, Norway, and the protagonist is young Dagny, whose reminiscences of the five people who loved her most rise to the surface at the moment she undergoes a tragic, life-changing experience. This refreshing picture has an original and precisely elaborated structure in which various time planes intermingle, while the vivid atmosphere is rounded out with authentic acting performances. Vancouver-based We Are the City, formed in 2008, includes singer-keyboardist Cayne McKenzie, drummer Andrew Huculiak, and guitarist David Menzel. Their debut album, In a Quiet World, was released in 2009.

About the director

Andrew Huculiak

Andrew Huculiak (Vancouver, Canada) is the drummer of the popular Vancouver band We Are the City, as well as a member of Amazing Factory Productions. Shot with his friends, Violent is his feature debut and the fulfillment of the talented Canadian director’s lifelong dream. Violent will be presented at Karlovy Vary as a world premiere.


Media Darling
33, 1411 Centre Street South, T2G 2E5, Calgary
Tel: +1 403 402 0975
E-mail: [email protected]

About the film

Color, DCP
World premiere

Section: Forum of Independents - Competition
Director: Andrew Huculiak
Screenplay: Andrew Huculiak, Cayne McKenzie, Josh Huculiak, Joseph Schweers
Dir. of Photography: Joseph Schweers
Music: We Are the City
Editor: Joseph Schweers
Producer: Amy Darling, Nicole Irene Dyck, Josh Huculiak
Production: Amazing Factory
Coproduction: Media Darling
Cast: Dagny Backer Johnsen, Tor Halvor Halvorsen, Tomine Mikkeline Eide, Yngve Seterås, Mari Sofie Andreassen, Bryn Bowen, Karl Bird
Contact: Media Darling


Andrew Huculiak

Film Director

Amy Darling


Carolle Brabant

Film Institution Rep.

Dagny Backer Johnsen


Tor Halvor Halvorsen


Mari Sofie Andreassen


Elizabeth Dyar

Film Crew

Julie Mak

Film Crew

Nicole Irene Dyck


Stephanie Lapka

Film Crew


© 2024 FILM SERVIS FESTIVAL KARLOVY VARY, a.s. [email protected] +420 221 411 011 All contacts

AccommodationsAccommodations Festival Pass, tickets, reservationsFestival Pass, tickets
HistoryHistory ContactsContacts
Archive of filmsArchive of films KVIFF TalksKVIFF Talks
Industry Days Programme 2021Industry Days Programme KVIFF Eastern PromisesKVIFF Eastern Promises
VideogalleryVideogallery PhotogalleryPhotogallery
ContactsContacts Posters of the 57th KV IFFPosters of the 57th KV IFF
HistoryHistory Festival GuideFestival Guide