Archive of films Die Bad / Jookgurna Hokeun Nappeugurna

South Korea
2000, 95 min

Section: New Korean Cinema
Year: 2001


After a chance brawl and an unintentional murder, Sung Bin spends seven years in prison. Outside its walls walk both the dead man’s spirit and the one actually responsible for the fatal incident, Suk Hwan – Sung Bin’s onetime schoolmate and best friend, today a policeman. Faced with the bloody spectre, mistrusted by those around him, and hassled by the police, Sung Bin has only one alternative left him after being released: to go to work for Tae Hoon and become a professional criminal. The circle of violence swallows up Suk Hwan’s younger brother and he, as a member of Sung Bin’s gang, finds himself tempting death. At this point a struggle between the two main protagonists is inevitable. The theme of guilt and fateful conflict between two friends, a clash between gang ethics and family ties – all is reminiscent of a John Woo film, while the director himself feels indebted to Quentin Tarantino. His movie, however, has a completely original composition created out of four parts, each with its own character: from horror through dramatic documentary to dazzling displays of street martial arts.

About the director

Ryoo Seung Wan (b. 1973) started in film as a self-taught director after finishing secondary school. Four short films brought recognition of his talent. Rumble (1998) and Our Contemporaries (1999), awarded at Korean festivals, were later incorporated into his feature film debut Die Bad (2000). In this film, screened at festivals including Pusan, Tokyo, Rotterdam, and Göteborg, the writer-director appears in one of the main roles. The breadth of his talent is reflected in the fact that he choreographed the action scenes and was behind the camera during the longest of these. In 2001 he finished his second film.

About the film

Black & white, 35 mm

Section: New Korean Cinema
Director: Ryoo Seung Wan
Screenplay: Ryoo Seung Wan
Dir. of Photography: Cho Yong Gyu, Choi Young Whan
Music: Kim Dong Gyu
Editor: Ahn Byung Geun
Producer: Kim Sung Jae
Production: CNP Entertainment
Cast: Park Sung Bin, Ryoo Seung Wan, Ryoo Seung Bum, Bae Joong Sik

© 2023 FILM SERVIS FESTIVAL KARLOVY VARY, a.s. [email protected] +420 221 411 011 All contacts

AccommodationsAccommodations Festival Pass, tickets, reservationsFestival Pass, tickets
HistoryHistory ContactsContacts
Archive of filmsArchive of films KVIFF TalksKVIFF Talks
Industry Days Programme 2021Industry Days Programme KVIFF Eastern PromisesKVIFF Eastern Promises
VideogalleryVideogallery PhotogalleryPhotogallery
ContactsContacts Posters of the 57th KV IFFPosters of the 57th KV IFF
HistoryHistory Festival GuideFestival Guide