Archive of films Utopia - Nobody's Perfect in Perfect Country / Folk flest bor i Kina

2002, 82 min

Section: Forum of Independents - Competition
Year: 2003

An absurd comedy which tries to find out who actually lives in a seemingly perfect country – Norway. Eight stories set at Lasse’s petrol station which unfold during the 24-hour period before the elections. The film was written by six scriptwriters and directed by nine directors.


Who actually lives in Norway, at first sight, a perfect country? The answer lies between the lines of this surprising feature film, which tells eight stories inspired by eight political parties, written by six screenwriters and directed by nine directors. The plot unfolds during a magical 24 hours before the Norwegian elections at Lasse’s petrol station, a place which represents a microcosm of Norwegian society: in this thinly populated, vast land, each voter has to stop here to get petrol. Lasse earns a living selling petrol, but dreams of being a pilot. These particular 24 hours turn out to be truly extraordinary for him... An off-beat comedy about small things and big consequences.

About the director

Hans Petter Moland directed the feature films The Last Lieutenant (1993), Zero Kelvin (1995) and Aberdeen (2000). Ingebjørg Torgersen directed a number of shorts. Terje Rangnes has worked for Norwegian TV. Magnus Martens gave his debut with the short film Eddie Stargazer, then directed commercials and music videos. Arild Fröhlich has made documentaries, short films and TV series. Thomas Robsahm directed the feature films Rebels with a Cause (1992), The Mosquito (1996), SOS (1999) and The Greatest Thing (2001). Morten Tyldum has made a number of shorts and commercials. Martin Asphaug directed the feature films A Handful of Time (1989), Svampe (1990) and Lethal Lies (1992), as well as various TV series. Sara Johnsen won several prizes for her debut short Titan (2001).


Motlys AS
Sagveien 18, N-0459, Oslo
Tel: +47 22 808 370
Fax: +47 22 808 371

BV International Pictures
Kvalavagsveien 156, Box 17, N - 4299, Avaldsnes
Tel: +47 52 846 460
Fax: +47 52 846 461

Norwegian Film Institute
Box 482 Sentrum, 0105, Oslo
Tel: +47 224 745 00
Fax: +47 224 745 97

About the film

Color, 35 mm

Section: Forum of Independents - Competition
Director: Morten Tyldum, Thomas Robsahm, Arild Fröhlich, Sara Johnsen, Ingebjorg Torgersen, Terje Rangnes, Magnus Martens, Martin Asphaug, Hans Petter Moland
Screenplay: Per Schreiner, Kjetil Lismoen, MarionHagen, Erlend Loe, Harald Rosenlow Eeg, Nikolaj Frobenius
Dir. of Photography: Gaute Gunnari, John Andreas Andersen, Trond Hoines, Anders Flatland
Music: Kaada
Editor: Sophie Hesselberg, Kristi Marie Hougen, Inge-Lise Langfeldt
Producer: Orjan Karlsen, Yngve Saether
Production: Motlys AS
Cast: Trond Hovik, Marit Pia Jacobsen, Sven Nordin, Agot Sendstad, Gjertrud Jynge
Contact: Motlys AS, BV International Pictures, Norwegian Film Institute


Morten Tyldum

Stine Oppegaard

Film Institution Rep.

Vigdis Lian


© 2020 FILM SERVIS FESTIVAL KARLOVY VARY, a.s. +420 221 411 011 All contacts

CinemasCinemas PartnersPartners
ProgramProgram About the projectAbout the project
HistoryHistory GalleryGallery
Festival DailyFestival Daily
HistoryHistory ContactsContacts
Archive of filmsArchive of films KVIFF TalksKVIFF Talks
Industry Days July 5 - July 8Industry Days July 5 - July 8 ContactsContacts
VideogalleryVideogallery GalleryGallery
HistoryHistory Festival GuideFestival Guide